Politics

Is there a Point??

fullsizerender-3

 

BLOG 69

Wiktionary: Remoaner: One who complains about or rejects the outcome of the 2016 EU referendum on the UK‘s membership of the European Union.

Sounds good to me. Where do I buy the t-shirt?

If “Leave” voters are to be believed (I know, why would you, but stay with me), we should give up. They won, we lost, get over it. Or, more likely from what I see on social media, “p*s off to yuropp, yoo w*nnk*”.

We all have lives to get on with (sort of) so perhaps we should focus on what we can actually do something about. Like my team’s football results…   Probably not a good example.  Like the price of — what is it that “Remain” voters eat, samphire?  Like the weather then – what do they say, “everyone complains about it but nobody does anything”?

I’ve reached an age when I ought to be gurning contentedly into my milky night-time drink and carefully monitoring Scandinavian police procedurals after the 9 pm watershed. If I stay up that late. But I find myself strangely moved to “action”, if that’s not too lively a term, politically.

I suspect, looking back (I know, I can sort of remember so I obviously wasn’t there) to my student days, that I was quite “straight”. More rugby and beer than forcing the Yanks out of Nam. And no free love. Though that was mainly because they wouldn’t have me.

fullsizerender-1

This blog: the babe magnet years

So I’ve been in no position to complain if more recent younger generations appear to have been too preoccupied with making money (or, more recently still, even getting an income at all) to care enough for the important things in life, like protesting or wearing kaftans. But one major plus – perhaps the only positive — from Brexit has been the awakening of interest, rage even, among those seeing their futures casually blighted by those who evidently feel that bringing back the florin, destroying the NHS and shouting abuse at foreigners will make us great again.

I didn’t really go in for marching or demos when young though I did break that rule for Margaret Thatcher’s decision to do away with my job, which seemed only fair. But I appear to be taking to it now. Joining my daughter and her friends on the big march in London immediately after the EU referendum was a joy and a privilege, and had therapeutic qualities for this person of mature years. Today’s youngsters have a whole new range of songs, chants and European food-based jokes that Joan Baez would surely have been impressed by.

img_2954

I’ve signed up for a “March on Parliament” taking place just before Teresa “I have no idea what will happen next” May is due to invoke the start of the process towards making the nation a poorer and more divided place. Happily Mrs Blog and I are of one mind on this. Mrs B supports the idea of me getting out of the house more, provided I wrap up warm, but has a mild distaste herself for the idea of being kettled. Particularly in the company of people to whom she hasn’t been properly introduced.

One of the more daunting weapons in Mrs Blog’s own armoury of protest is the prospective withdrawal of her purchasing powers. A minor twitch in her patterns of credit card patronage would make tyrants and unprincipled heads of business quail. She assures me that she will deploy this power selectively and that M&S are safe for now.

fullsizerender-2

It would be like losing her right arm but….

Sadly my own social calendar doesn’t currently feature any awards ceremonies, in Hollywood or anywhere else, but I have drafted an acceptance speech for a neighbour’s daughter’s Brownie citizenship badge that I can guarantee will inflict lasting damage on Donald Trump.

Along with nearly two million others in the UK (or fewer than two dozen, according to the Spin and Alternative Facts Department of the White House), I have been concerned enough about Trump’s history, particularly with regard to women, to sign the online petition to prevent him getting anywhere near our Head of State if he sets foot here.

img_3065-1

 

And, if he is rash enough to invade, the Scots are ready….

img_3047

.…including Mrs B who is hard at work preparing in her own way

fullsizerender-4

 

These may all appear pinpricks of protest but we must each do what we can. It is not enough to assume that the very existence of Sean Spicer and Kellyanne Conway  in Washington render satire impossible. Ridicule is a powerful tool. Where is Spitting Image when you need it?

It is tempting to head for the underground bunkers and wait for four or more years to pass and to accept that one-third of the UK’s eligible voting population has the right to bugger up the nation’s economy, welfare state, environment and belief in decent values for a lifetime, but that temptation should be resisted.

Altogether now, where’s my beads? Where’s my hair? We shall not, we shall not be moved….

img_3072img_3074

 

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Is there a Point??

  1. Elaine says:

    This is really interesting. I wonder what the result of a second referendum would be. Certainly some people have switched sides, both ways.
    It is a pity that the whole referendum was run by MP’s (who do not really seem to have the country at heart but are motivated by their own egos and a ” place in the history books).
    The Government didn’t seem to comply with their own Freedom of Information Act either. No relevant information was spread to the public. I only received a 3 piece “coloured in ” leaflet through the door.
    Our only hope is May. She is bright, parental, learned, calm in a crisis & thinks before she feeds the baying press their fodder. I trust her.
    She dresses properly for the modern world, with panache and quality outfits. Surrounded by men in expensive uniforms ( suits from Savile Rowe) she stands out rather in the French mode of Christine Lagarde.
    So unlike pompous Margaret Thatcher ( who I marched against as a student when she destroyed state education in the 1970s. It has taken this long to sort that one out and achieve high performing comprehensives).

    Trump: what a disaster! Worse than the Brexit dilemma.
    He has got to be found out for his past unreliabilities ( new word?) and shamed.
    Any world leader who cannot meet people who disagree with him as he tends to “erupt” is not made for the job. Volcanic personalities are too unpredictable and liable to cause devastations of magnitude.

    Nepotism and high personal expenditure on glittery products ( gold, Ivanka’s haute couture as she entered The White House) are not best recommendations for running a country’s purse and economy.

    Signed the anti Trump petition but side with Mrs Blog on Kettling…
    Which reminds me ☕️☕️

    It’s 11.00 am and I am going to put a kettle on here.

    Cliches aside: time will tell.

Leave a Reply

